Sign In

Private 1:1 Tutoring for English Language Arts

  • Ages:
    Preschool, Gradeschooler, Teen

This is a personalized class where the focus will be on the learner’s individual English Language Arts needs.

 

Bring your own book! Learners can bring whatever material is appropriate for their needs (book, homework, poem, graphic novel, play, class notes, online text, etc.). We will work together, using that learner provided material to help the learner improve upon whatever skills they need help with.

 

Questioning, drawing, and other interactive activities will be used to tap into the learner’s prior knowledge, which will then be used to guide instruction. The class will be conducted in a positive manner, with the primary goal that of leaving the learner with a sense of accomplishment.

 

The following is a sample list of the types of skills we can practice:

decoding
sight words
comprehension
fluency
vocabulary
retelling
sequencing
context clues
character maps
story elements
main idea/details
pronunciation

 

*Note to families: This class is specifically timed to 20 minutes in order to maintain a high level of student engagement. I believe that engaged learners learn more, learn better, and retain more of what they have learned.

 

If you do not see a time listed, please select the “Request Another Time button.”

Add Review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Service
Value for Money
Location
Cleanliness

Provider Teacher Rae

Teacher Rae

Hello,

Thank you for visiting my profile!

__________________

Expertise

My expertise falls under 3 main subject areas:

- English Language Arts (for both native and second language learners [ESL/TESOL]).
- Art: 3 dimensional sculpture (using paper & other recycled materials).
- Design: 3 dimensional design (paper toys, gift boxes, etc.).

__________________

Experience

I have been teaching children in-person for many years, and teaching online since 2017. I have worked with children from diverse backgrounds, and from all around the world. I also have experience working with children of special needs, as well as children residing in foster care. The students I taught have ranged in age from as young as 3 years old all the way into adulthood, with the average ages being 5-15. I have taught every subject imaginable, but enjoy English and Art the most.

__________________

Education

I hold 2 Master degrees in education, one in teaching English as a second language (TESOL) (2020), and the other in eLearning (2017). I have a Bachelor degree in Art with an emphasis in Graphic Design and a minor in Art History (2015). I also hold an Associate degree in Special Education (2011).

__________________

Philosophy

As you can see, I love learning! My teaching philosophy is to inspire that same love of learning in my students.

I strive to empower my students by recognizing their individual strengths. All children come to a learning situation with their own set of unique talents, experiences, and knowledge.

I feed each student’s passion for the topic by ensuring that the learning experience is engaging and personalized.

I facilitate intentional learning through questioning and problem solving (critical thinking) to help students build upon what they already know.

I support connected learning through student-to-student and student-to-teacher interaction to help students feel personally involved in their learning.

__________________

Personal Tidbits

I love the desert and hot, sunny days. I have 2 mischievous little Wirehair Dachshunds (wiener dogs with beards) that keep me entertained. My favorite treat is ice cream (any flavor that includes chocolate), and my favorite beverage is Diet Sunkist (I like my caffeine cold). I enjoy reading, but rarely read the same book twice. I seem to have an endless capacity for coming up with new class ideas, and even have a little “idea box” where I keep those that I remember to write down.

Message Provider

    Preferred contact method
    [recaptcha]