Sign In

Contact

Send Message

Send Message

About

Hello. My name is Teacher Phoebe. It is so nice to you meet you and I hope you decide to join one of my classes! A little background about myself: I graduated with my Bachelors Degree in Pre-Medicine and a minor in Psychology in 2011. I went onto graduate school to attain my Masters Degree in Health Education with a focus on Public Health in 2016. I completed my thesis on Mind, Body and Soul interventions for children ages 5 to 18. I worked full time in pediatric and adult clinical research for about 10 years where I ended up publishing articles in reputable science journals such as BMC Pediatrics, Clinical Therapeutics, Chemical Senses, PLOS one. Most of my clinical research projects were about taste research and spent a lot of time teaching children ages 3 to 18 how to be great participants in research! When I graduated college, I realized that I wanted to also teach and help other students who might be falling back due to the troubles they might have in math and science. It has been my mission to teach science to elementary, junior high, high school and college students. When I am not in the lab, I found my passion for teaching. I love teaching others about ways to make complex topics simple and have done so within the last 10 years. I use to tutor and teach elementary, junior high, high school and college students for a private company for the following topics: PSAT, SAT, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Pre-Algebra, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Psychology and Geometry. I worked for a private company, since 2011, where I helped homeschool and public school achieve success in the classes and standardized tests listed above. My speciality is improving children's scores for the AP/SAT Biology exam, AP Psychology, and SAT Math. I have in the past improved scores to 750+. Science has allowed me to be in the front of public health, cancer and gastroenterology research. Currently, I work full time in gastroenterology research and I work part time as a ESL Instructor for children in China. My philosophy is making complex topics really simple through simple tricks and tips. I love, in my spare time to go jogging. With over 10 years of science research and part time teaching, I love making science classes interesting. My educational background: -B.S in Premedicine -Minor in Psychology -M.S in Health Education -M.S in Masters in Public Health (Current) -TESL Certified Teaching Experience: -1 year teaching Counseling Education at Penn State -10 years of private tutoring for Pre-Algebra, Algebra, Geometry, Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Psychology, AP Exams, SAT/PSAT Exams -3 years of teaching at "Brick and Mortar" private prep company for the following subjects: Pre-Algebra, Algebra, Geometry, Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Psychology, AP Exams, SAT/PSAT Exams -1 year of teaching online ESL -1 year on Outschool I make sure to keep my class sizes small and engaging and often provide template worksheets to ensure all students understand the material at hand! With a more personalized touch, most of my classes are open forum. I have taught in the past for specialized SAT courses and AP courses in the Math and Sciences (Biology and Chemistry). I have taught Physical Science, AP Biology, AP Chemistry and AP Psychology. My goal is to build a structure of mini classes around topics that children ages 7 to 18 can enjoy and help them find a passion for science. Most of my students loved mini reviews of topics and I hope to bring a personalized touch.

Phoebe's Listings

This user doesn't have any listings available right now.